Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage 

“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.” -EYFS Framework.

Children in Pre school and Reception follow the Early Years Foundations Stage curriculum.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children will develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

Communication and language

Physical development

Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design

At Froxfield we aim to develop children into happy, confident, resilient learners. We provide a safe and stimulating environment in which children can explore and learn. Children are given opportunities to initiate their own learning, facilitated by well-trained adults and carefully resourced provision.

The classroom and outside areas provide opportunities for the children to develop their learning across the curriculum. The day is structured to provide a wide range of activities and learning opportunities, including independent, child-initiated learning, whole class sessions and focused group work.

Our Approach to Early Years

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (publishing.service.gov.uk)

Ongoing curricular opportunities – Reception


Learning Journey Across Early Years